Nigeria Exchange
About Us Advertise News Business Addresses Nigeria Events Newspapers Newsletter More
Search Nigeria Sites & Businesses Search Tips

News General Sports Business Odd / Funny Tech Entertainment Articles Author Login Comments More Categories Author List
Email A Friend  |   Print

President Buhari assigns portfolios to ministers - appoints himself Minister of Petroleum
| November 11, 2015

President Muhammadu Buhari has assigned portfolios of ministers, who were sworn in today, at the Presidential Villa, Abuja. President Buhari named himself the substantive minister for petroleum resources, and will be assisted by the current group managing director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Ibe Kachikwu, who was sworn in as the Minister of State for petroleum resources.

Former Lagos State Governor, Mr Babatunde Fashola, was announced as Minister of Works, Power and Housing. The Solid Mineral Ministry is headed by Dr. Kayode Fayemi, as the former Governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amaechi, was also assigned Transportation and Aviation ministry.

Dr. Chris Ngige, was appointed Minister of Labour and Employment and the former Commissioner for Finance in Ogun State, Kemi Adeosun, was appointed Minister of Finance. After the swearing in, the President, said that his administration would continue to implement policies that would improve the economy of the nation.

He said, "We are optimistic that bringing this set of ministers into the service of our country today, is a step in the right direction and a timely move towards realising our positive goals for our country. “Since we assumed office in May, I have been mindful of the need to ensure that appointment of the new ministers translates into putting round pegs in round holes wile showing sensitivity to our diversity as a people and our various positions as groups of stakeholders of our country,”

The full list of the ministers and their assigned ministries are as follows:

  • Kemi Adeosun (Ogun) – Minister of Finance
  • Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers) – Minister of Transportation
  • Chris Ngige (Anambra) – Minister of Labour and Employment
  • Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti)– Minister of Solid Minerals
  • Babatunde Fashola (Lagos) – Minister of Power, Works and Housing
  • Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano) – Minister of Interior
  • Aisha Alhassan (Taraba) – Minister of Women Affairs
  • Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi) – Minister of Science and Technology
  • Abubakar Malami (Kebbi) – Minister of Justice
  • Hadi Sirika (Katsina) – Minister of State for Aviation
  • Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa) – Minister of Water Resources
  • Solomon Dalong (Plateau)– Minister of Youths and Sports
  • Ibeh Kachikwu (Delta) – Minister of State for Petroleum
  • Osagie Ehanire (Edo) – Minister of State for Health
  • Audu Ogbeh (Benue) – Minister of Agriculture
  • Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom) – Minister of Budget and National Planning
  • Lai Mohammed (Kwara) – Minister of Information
  • Amina Mohammed (Gombe) – Minister of Environment
  • Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa) — Minister of State for Environment
  • Anthony Onwuka (Imo) – Minister of State for Education
  • Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa) — Minister of the Federal Capital Territory
  • Adamu Adamu (Bauchi) — Minister of Education
  • Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia) – Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment
  • Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) — Minister of State for Trade, Industry and Investment
  • Khadija Bukar Abba (Yobe) – Minister of State for Foreign Affairs
  • Claudius Daramola (Ondo) – Minister of State for Niger Delta
  • Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu) — Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Monsur Dan-Ali (Zamfara) — Minister of Defence
  • James Ocholi (Kogi) – Minister of State for Labour
  • Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna) – Minister of State for Budget and National Planning
  • Mustapha Shehuri (Borno) — Minister of State for Power
  • Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa) – Minister of State for Agriculture
  • Isaac Adewole Folorunsho (Osun) — Minister of Health
  • Usani Usani Uguru (Cross River) — Minister of the Niger Delta
  • Abubakar Bwari Bawa (Niger) — Minister of State for Solid Minerals
  • Adebayo Shittu (Oyo) — Minister of Communications
  • President Muhammadu Buhari — Minister of Petroleum

(0) Comment


"The views and opinions expressed in these comment(s) or article(s) do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of NGEX, its partners or its affiliates."

More News »
follow NgEX on Facebook
Submit An Article
"Press Releases"    More »
Abiodun Idris | December 22, 2014
Greatest Nigeria students and masses of our dear country. I want to start this write up by saluting...
Submit A Press Release »
News / Comments   More »
Debts: What you should know as a Nigerian entrepreneur
February 25, 2016 | Gary Crenshaw | 1 posts
It is normal for businesses to owe money at the beginning of a business. That's what separates entrepreneur...  Post comment »
10 Lucrative Business Opportunities in Nigeria
December 03, 2015 | OJOMA THOMAS | 3 posts
How can I start a snails business,fairly used clothes and a poultry7071  Post comment »
Article / Comments   More »
Yoruba Origin Of Bini & Da Lagosians
July 29, 2017 |  N/A | 1 posts
This article is full of nonsense  Post comment »
Ribadu Remains The Only Saint That Led Anti-Corruption EFCC
December 19, 2016 |  Lawrence | 1 posts
Interesting piece. Let's continue to speak out.  Post comment »
Nigeria: The 19 Northern Governors in the Eyes of the People
August 04, 2011 |  Chioma | 1 posts
This is nothing but the truth.  Post comment »
Submit An Article
Copyright © 2005 -2013 NgEX. All rights reserved.