Part : I  -  II  -  III  -  IV
Page : 1  -  2  -  3  -  4  -  5  -  6  -  7  -  8  -  9  -  10  -   11  -  12  -  13  -  14  -  15  -  16  -  17  -  18  -  19

8. -(1) In giving effect to the provisions of section 14(3) and (4) of this Constitution, the Commission shall have the power to:

(a) work out an equitable formula subject to the approval of the National Assembly for the distribution of all cadres of posts in the public service of the Federation and of the States, the armed forces of the Federation, the Nigeria Police Force and other government security agencies, government owned companies and parastatals of the states;

(b) promote, monitor and enforce compliance with the principles of proportional sharing of all bureaucratic, economic, media and political posts at all levels of government;

(c) take such legal measures, including the prosecution of the head or staff of any Ministry or government body or agency which fails to comply with any federal character principle or formula prescribed or adopted by the Commission; and

(d) carry out such other functions as may be conferred upon it by an Act of the National Assembly.

(2) The posts mentioned in sub-paragraph (1)(a) and (b) of this paragraph shall include those of the Permanent Secretaries, Directors-General in Extra-Ministerial Departments and parastatals, Directors in Ministries and Extra-Ministerial Departments, senior military officers, senior diplomatic posts and managerial cadres in the Federal and State parastatals, bodies, agencies and institutions.

(3) Notwithstanding any provision in any other law or enactment, the Commission shall ensure that every public company or corporation reflects the federal character in the appointments of its directors and senior management staff.

9. It shall be the duty of the Board of Directors of every state-owned enterprise to recognise and promote the principle of federal character in the ownership and management structure of the company.

D - Federal Civil Service Commission

10. The Federal Civil Service Commission shall comprise the following members -

(a) a Chairman; and

(b) not more than fifteen other members,

who shall, in the opinion of the President, be persons of unquestionable integrity and sound political judgment.

11. -(1) The Commission shall without prejudice to the powers vested in the President, the National Judicial Council, the Federal Judicial Service Commission, the National Population Commission and the Police Service Commission, have power -

(a) to appoint persons to offices in the Federal Civil Service; and

(b) to dismiss and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding such offices.

(2) The Commission shall not exercise any of its powers under sub-paragraph (1) of this paragraph in respect of such offices of heads of divisions of Ministries or of departments of the government of the Federation as may, from time to time, be designated by an order made by the President except after consultation with the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation.

E - Federal Judicial Service Commission

12. The Federal Judicial Service Commission shall comprise the following members -

(a) the Chief Justice of Nigeria, who shall be the Chairman;

(b) the President of the Court of Appeal;

(c) the Attorney-General of the Federation;

(d) the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court;

(e) two persons, each of whom has been qualified to practice as a legal practitioner in Nigeria for a period of not less than fifteen years, from a list of not less than four persons so qualified and recommended by the Nigerian Bar Association; and

(f) two other persons, not being legal practitioners, who in the opinion of the President are of unquestionable integrity.

13. The Commission shall have power to -

(a) advise the National Judicial Council in nominating persons for appointment, as respects appointments to the office of -

(i) the Chief Justice of Nigeria;

(ii) a Justice of the Supreme Court;

(iii) the President of the Court of Appeal;

(iv) a Justice of the Court of Appeal;

(v) the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court;

(vi) a Judge of the Federal High Court; and

(iv) the Chairman and members of the Code of Conduct Tribunal.

(b) recommend to the National Judicial Council, the removal from office of the judicial officers specified in sub-paragraph (a) of this paragraph; and

(b) appoint, dismiss and exercise disciplinary control over the Chief Registrars and Deputy Chief Registrars of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the Federal High Court and all other members of the staff of the judicial service of the Federation not otherwise specified in this Constitution and of the Federal Judicial Service Commission.

Part : I  -  II  -  III  -  IV
Page : 1  -  2  -  3  -  4  -  5  -  6  -  7  -  8  -  9  -  10  -   11  -  12  -  13  -  14  -  15  -  16  -  17  -  18  -  19