A - The President of the Federation

Part : I  -  II  -  III
Page : 1  -  2  -  3  -  4  -  5  -  6  -  7  -  8  -  9  -  10  -  11  -  12  -  13
    1. There shall be for the Federation a President.
    2. The President shall be the Head of State, the Chief Executive of the Federation and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federation.

  1. A person shall be qualified for election to the office of the President if -
    1. he is a citizen of Nigeria by birth
    2. he has attained the age of forty years;
    3. he is a member of a political party and is sponsored by that political party; and
    4. he has been educated up to at least School Certificate level or its equivalent.
    1. An election to the office of President shall be held on a date to be appointed by the Independent National Electoral Commission.
    2. An election to the said office shall be held on a date not earlier than sixty days and not later than thirty days before the expiration of the term of office of the last holder of that office.
    3. Where in an election to the office of President one of the two or more candidates nominated for the election is the only candidate after the close of nomination, by reason of the disqualification, withdrawal, incapacitation, disappearance or death of the other candidates, the Independent National Electoral Commission shall extend the time for nomination.
    4. For the purpose of an election to the office of President, the whole of the Federation shall be regarded as one constituency.
    5. Every person who is registered to vote at an election of a member of a legislative house shall be entitled to vote at an election to the office of President.

  2. A candidate for an election to the office of President shall be deemed to have been duly elected to such office where, being the only candidate nominated for the election -
    1. he has a majority of YES votes over NO votes cast at the election; and
    2. he has not less than one-quarter of the votes cast at the election in each of at least two-thirds of all the States in the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja

Part : I  -  II  -  III
Page : 1  -  2  -  3  -  4  -  5  -  6  -  7  -  8  -  9  -  10  -  11  -  12  -  13