Bauchi State, Nigeria

Capital: Bauchi
Area: 49,119 km˛ square
Population: 4,653,066 (2006 est.)
Major Languages: Hausa (60)
Governor: Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar (APC)
ISO 3166-2: NG-BA
Date Created: 3 February 1976
Population Rank: Ranked 11th


Bauchi State is a state in northern Nigeria. Its capital is Bauchi.

Bauchi State is located in the North-Eastern part of the country.

The State shares borders with Plateau State to the West, Kano State to the North and Yobe and Gobe States to the north-east.


Bauchi State is a State in northern Nigeria. The state was formed in 1976 when the former North-Eastern State was broken up. It originally included the area now in Gombe State, which became a distinct state in 1996.


Bauchi state is a heterogeneous state, with predominant tribes like, Hausa, Fulani, Jarawa, Tangale, Waja, Balewa, Sayawa and Tarewa

Local Government Areas

It is made up of 20 local government areas, namely: Bauchi, Tafawa Balewa, Bogoro, Katagum, Alkaleri, Dambam, Giade, Ganjuwa, Darazo, Dass, Ningi, Shira, Gamawa, Itas/Gadau, Jam'are, Kirfi, Toro, Warji, Zaki, Misau


Institutions in Bauchi:

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

Bauchi State University, Gudau

Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi

Business Opportunities

Bauchi state is an agricultural state. Its vast fertile soil is an added advantage for agricultural products, which include maize, rice, millet, groundnut and guinea corn. Irrigation fanning is practiced and supported by the use of dams like Balanga dam, etc. Cattle and other livestock are also reared in the state

The state has industries like the Bazamri PVC - Wire Limited, Kuda Nails Factory, Yankari Natural Water Company, Zaki Flour Mills and Arewa Ceramic Industry


Marshal Caves, Yankari Natural Park * Wikki Warm Spring, Natural Yankari Park * Tafawa Balewa Tomb Monument * Lame/Bura Game Wildlife/Eco- Reserve Tourism * Geji Rock Painting Monuments

Useful Resources

Schools on The Web:


State Liason Office:
9, Koubia Close, Behind Peniel Apartments, Wuse II, Abuja