Kwara State, Nigeria

Capital: Ilorin
Area: 36,825 km
Population: 2,591,555 (2005 est.)
Major Languages: Ebira, Nupe and Yoruba
Governor: Abdulfatah Ahmed (APC)
ISO 3166-2: NG-KW
Date Created: 27th May 1967
Population Rank: Ranked 31st



Kwara State is one of the 36 states that make up the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Africa's most populous country. Kwara State shares her boundaries with the Republic of Benin at her west and the Niger River at her North.  

The capital city of Ilorin is situated 306km inland from the coastal city of Lagos and 5OOkm from the federal capital, Abuja. Major towns include Offa and Jebba, located on the Niger River. Other towns include Patigi, Erin-lIe,lIoffa, Adeleke Igbewere, Ejidongari, Osi, Lafiagi, Gure, Afon, Kaiama, Isanlu-lsin, Omu-Aran, Egbejila, lIota, Iponrin and Igbaja.



Kwara State was created on 27 May 1967, when the Federal Military Government of General Yakubu Gowon broke the four regions that then constituted the Federation of Nigeria into 12 states. At its creation, the state was made up of the former Ilorin and Kabba provinces of the then Northern Region and was initially named the West Central State but later changed to "Kwara", a local name for the River Niger.


The principal groups residing in Kwara State are the Yoruba, Nupe, Bariba and Fulani.

As of 2006, the population of Kwarans was 2.37 million based on the Nigeria 2006 Census. This population size constitutes about 1.69% of the Nation's total population having relied upon immigration for population growth and socioeconomic development.[2]
Residents of the state are sometimes referred to as Kwarans

Local Government Areas

There are 16 Local Government Areas in the State: Asa, Baruten, Edu, Ekiti, Ifelodun, Ilorin East, Ilorin West, Irepodun, Isin, Kaiama, Moro, Offa, Oke-Ero, Oyun, Pategi.


Education received priority in the state. There are many primary and secondary schools. Higher institutions in the state include the federally owned University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Federal Polytechnic, Offa, Federal Training Centre, Ilorin, State College of Education, Ilorin and Oro, Kwara State Polytechnic, Ilorin and the Schools of Nursing and Midwifery, Ilorin Kwara State University, Al-Hikma University and Land Mark University (a private University) located in Omu Aran.

Business Opportunities

Agriculture is the main stay of the economy and the principal cash crops are: cotton, cocoa, coffee, kolanut, tobacco, benseed and palm produce

mineral resources abound in the state. Among these are limestone, marble, feldspar, clay, kaolin, quartz and granite rocks

Industries in the state include Dangote Flour Mill, Lubcon Lubricant Company, Kam Industries Nigeria Ltd, Tuyil Pharmacy Nig Ltd, Padson Industries NiG Ltd,[4] Kwara Breweries, Ijagbo Global Soap and Detergent Industry, United Match Company, Tate and Lyle Company, Resinoplast Plastic Industry, Phamatech Nigeria Limited, Kwara Textile and Kwara Furniture Company all in Ilorin. Others are Paper Manufacturing Industry, Jebba, Okin Foam and Okin Biscuits, Offa, Kay Plastic, Ganmo and Kwara Paper Converters Limited, Erin-ile. Others are Sugar Producing Company, Bacita, Kwara animal Feed Mall, Ilorin and the Agricultural Products Company.


Important tourist attractions in Kwara State include Esie Museum, Owu Falls, Imoleboja Rock Shelter, Ogunjokoro, Kainji Lake National Parks and Agbonna Hill.

Useful Resources

State Official Website:

Schools on The Web:

University of Ilorin (

Kwara State University (

Kwara State Polytechnic (

Landmark University (

Al-Hikma University (


Other School in Kwara State Include


State Liason Office:

Plot 38, Jose Marit Crescent, Asokoro, P.M.B 224, Garki, Abuja


Lagos Liaison Office:

11, Idowu Martins Street, Victoria Island, Eti Osa, Lagos, Nigeria