Nassarawa State, Nigeria

Capital: Lafia
Area: 27,117 km˛
Population: 2,040,097(2005 est.)
Language: hausa 
Governor: Umaru Tanko Al-Makura (APC)
ISO 3166-2: NG-NA
Date Created: 1 October 1996
Population Rank: Ranked 34th



Nassarawa is made up of thirteen local government areas namely; Wamba, Kokona, Keana, Nassarawa/Eggon, Toto, Awe, Akwanga, Keff, Karu, Lafia, Obi, Doma and Nassarawa. It is bounded in the north by Kaduna state, in the west by the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, in the south by Kogi and Benue States and in the east by Taraba and Plateau States.

The state is bounded on the north by Kaduna State, on the South by Benue State, on the East by Plateau & Taraba States, while on the West by The Federal Capital Territory & Kogi State.


Nasarawa state was created in 1996 out of neighbouring Plateau state. Located in the North-Central region of Nigeria, it is bordered on the West by the Federal Capital Territory, the North by Kaduna, the South by Benue and Kogi, and on the East by Plateau and Taraba states.


There are 29 languages spoken as first languages in Nasarawa State namely: agatu, ake, alago, arum-tesu, basa, basa-gumna, bu, duhwa, ebira, eggon. eloyi, gade, gbayi, gbari, goemai, gwandara, ham, hasha, kofyar, lijili, mada, mama, ninzam, numana-nunku-gwantu-numbu, nungu, tiv, toto, wapan, yeskwa. Major languages are Agatu, Basa, Eggon, Gbagyi, Gade, Goemai, Gwandara, Ham, Kofyar, and Lijili but the common language spoken among the people is Hausa.

Local Government Areas

Nassarawa has 13 local government councils which perform government functions at the grassroot level. Nassarawa/Eggon, Toto, Awe, Akwanga, Keffi, Karu Lafia, Obi, Doma, and Nassarawa local government.


The state has numerous primary and secondary schools across the state and institutions of higher learning like Nassarawa State College of Education, Akwanga, Nasarawa State and Federal University, Federal and State Polytechnics, the Federal College of Agriculture and the Federal College of Education.

Business Opportunities

Nasarawa’s main economic activity is agriculture; cash crops such as yam, cassava and egusi (melon). Production of minerals such as salt is also another major economic activity in the state; Nasarawa produces a large proportion of the salt consumed in the country


Nassarawa state is a pot pourri of tourist attractions with array of hills and rocks that dot the state's landscape.

On top of any of these natural edifice, tourists are offered a wonderful spectacle of the state. Among these Rocks and Hills are

  • the famous Mada Hills and Rukubi Hills, both at Akwanga,
  • Ava and Eggon Hills at Nassarawa,
  • Captain Maloney Hills at Keffi, and
  • Efugogiri Hills at Doma,
  • Numa Rock, Akwanga, and
  • Mail Rumba Rock, Doma.

Other exciting places are Keana Salt Processing centre, Hunku lake, Akuriwari warm spring and crocodile lake, Gizar (all at Akwanga), Doka-gide Ria at Doma, Tunga Nupawa lake, Assakio, Natural springwater at lafia and Ogani fishing water at Oto local government. Nassarawa can be reached by land transportation.


Useful Resources

State Official Website:

Schools on The Web:

Nasarawa State University (

Federal University of Lafia (

Nasarawa State Polytechnic (

Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa (


State Liason Office:
107, Kame Nkrumah Crescent,Behind ECOWAS Secretariat, Asokoro, Abuja