Ondo State, Nigeria

Capital: Akure
Area: 15,500 sq km
Population: 3,011,407 (2005 est.)
Language:  Yoruba
Governor: Olusegun Mimiko (PDP)
ISO 3166-2: NG-ON
Date Created: 3 February 1976
Population Rank: Ranked 20th



Ondo State, Nigeria was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State. It originally included what is now Ekiti State, which was split off in 1996. Akure is the state capital. The state contains eighteen Local Government Areas, the major ones being Akoko, Alur?, Okitipupa, Ondo, and Owo. The majority of the state's citizens live in urban centers. The big government universities in Ondo state are the Federal University of Technology, Akur? and the Adekunle Ajasin university, Akungba/Akoko.

Ondo State was created in 1976 and is bounded in the East by Bendel State, in the North by Kwara State, in the West by Oyo and Ogun States and in the South by the Atlantic Ocean.


Ondo State was carved out of the old Western State as one of the seven states created on February 3, 1976


The State is dominated by Yorubas who speak various dialects of the Yoruba language such as the Akoko, Akure, Apoi, Idanre, Ikale, Ilaje, Ondo and the Owo and a minority speaking the Ijaw Language.
The people are mostly subsistence farmers, fishermen and traders. The people are lovers of arts, music and literature.

Local Government Areas

The State has eighteen Local Government Area: Akoko North East, Akoko North West,. Akoko South Akure East, Akoko South West, Akure North, Akure South, Ese-Odo, Idanre, Ifedore, Ilaje, Ile-Oluji-Okeigbo, Irele, Odigbo, Okitipupa, Ondo East, Ondo West, Ose, Owo.



Education is accorded high priority by the state government with the state reputed as the education factory of Nigeria as a result of emphasis in this sector over the years with 541public primary schools 74 registered private primary schools. Also the state has 141 public secondary schoo;s and 18 registered private secondary schools while there are other four (4) technical secondary schools, there are also tertiary institutions in the state. These include the Federal University of Technology, Akure, Ondo State Polytechnic, Owo, Federal College of Agriculture, Akure, Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo, Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko, Ondo State University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa, Elizade University Ilara-Mokin, Federal College Of Agriculture Akure, Achievers University, Owo, Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, Ondo State School of Nursing and Midwifery, Ondo State School of Health Technology, Akure, Wesley University of Science and Technology,{WUSTO} Ondo,  National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration{NIEPA} Ondo, Millennium College of Health Technology, Akure Ondo State.


Business Opportunities

Agriculture (including fishing) constitute the main occupation of the people of the state. Indeed, Ondo state is the leading cocoa producing state, in Nigeria. Other agricultural products include yams, cassava and palm produce


A variety of tourist attractions abound in the state. Among the leading spots are the historic Idanre Hills with guesthouses built by the government. Others are Ayetoro Community of Holy Apostles, the Owo Museum of Antiquities, Oke Maria at Oka-Akoko, the Palace of the Deji of Akure, Ebomi Lake at Ipesi-Akoko and Iho Eleru at Isarun.

Useful Resources


Schools on The Web:




State Liason Office:
76, Ralph Sodeinde Avenue, Central Business District, P.M.B 373, Garki, Abuja