Oyo State, Nigeria

Capital: Ibadan
Area:  35,742.84 sq kilometres
Population: 6,617,720 (2005 est.)
Major Languages :  Yoruba
Governor: Isiaka Abiola Ajimobi
ISO 3166-2: NG-OY
Date Created: 3 February 1976
Population Rank: Ranked N/A


Oyo State is an inland state in south-western Nigeria, with its capital at Ibadan. It is bounded in the south by Ogun State and in the north by Kwara State, in the west is bounded partly by Ogun State and partly by the Republic of Benin while in the east it is bounded by Osun State.

The capital of the State is Ibadan, the most populous city in black Africa with about two and a half million people.


Oyo State was created in February, 1976 and covers a total of 27,249 square kilometres of land mass.


The Yoruba people of Oyo State are of five major ethnic groups. They are; Oyo, Osun, Oke Ogun, Ife/Ijesa and Igbonna. Although the language of the groups is Yoruba, each group is clearly distinguishable by its dialect.

The Oyo State Yoruba, like their counterparts in three other states of Nigeria, are city dwellers with strong paternal family lineage. The society of Yoruba people is highly organised with autonomous cities or towns, the political and spiritual head of which is either a king or a baale (head-chief without beaded crown).

Local Government Areas

Akinyele Local Government
Afijo Local Government
Egbeda Local Government
Ibadan Central Local Government
Ibadan North-East Local Government
Ibadan South-West Local Government
Ibadan South-East Local Government
Ibarapa Local Government
Ido Local Government Ifedapo Local Government
Ifeloju Local Government
Irepo Local Government
Iseyin Local Government
Kajola Local Government
Lagelu Local Government
Ogbomosho North Local Government
Ogbomosho South Local Government
Oyo West Local Government
Atiba Local Government
Atigbo Local Government Saki East Local Government
Itesiwaju Local Government
Iwajowa Local Government
Ibarapa North Local Government
Iyamapo/Olorunsogo Local Government
Oluyole Local Government
Ogo-Oluwa Local Government
Surulere Local Government
Orelope Local Government
Orire Local Government
Oyo Local Government
Ona-Ara Local Government


Educationally, the state has reached a level of advancement. There are 324 secondary schools, 1,576 public primary schools, five Technical Colleges located at Ogbomosho, Oyo, Saki, Ibadan and Igbo-Ora. Two Colleges of Education are located in Ibadan as well as the famous University of lbadan and Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho. There is also the Polytechnic, Ibadan with satellite campuses at Eruwa and Saki and Special Science Schools located within the state

Business Opportunities

Agriculture is the main occupation of the people of Oyo State. The climate in the state favours the cultivation of crops like maize, yam, cassava, millet, rice, plantains, cocoa, palm produce, cashew etc



Igbeti Hills, Igbeti Physical * Trans Amusement Park, Ibadan Man-made Resort * Captain Bower, Tower, Ibadan Monument * Agodi Gardens, Ibadan Man-made * Old Oyo National Park Wildlife/Eco-Toursim * University of Ibadan Zoo/ Zoological Garden Man-made * Alaafin of Oyo's Palace Cultural * Calabash Carving Cultural/Souvenir * Ado-Awage Suspended Lake Natural * Aso Oke Weaving, Iseyin Traditional/Souvenir

Useful Resources


Schools on The Web:
Federal Govt Girls College, OYO
Queens School, Ibadan
Abadina College,Ibadan
St. Annes School, Ibadan
Methodist Grammar School,Ibadan
St Louis Grammar School, Ibadan
Command Secondary School, Ibadan, Ibadan
Lagelu Grammar School, Ibadan
St Patricks Grammar School, Ibadan
Government College of Ibadan, Ibadan
International School, Ibadan
E-mail: Loyola College, Ibadan
Saint Theresa's College Ibadan
Loyola College, Ibadan


State Liason Office:
Oduduwa House,
Plot 1226, Ahmadu Bello Way,
Victoria Island, Lagos.
Tel: 01-613371 - 3 (3 lines)

Plot 649, Asokoro District, P.M.B. 300, Asokoro Abuja