Rivers State, Nigeria

Capital: Port Harcourt
Area: 1,077 km˛square
Population: 5,689,087 (2005 est.)
Language:  Ikwerre, Ijaw, Kana, Gokana...
Governor: Rotimi Amaechi (PDP)
ISO 3166-2: NG-RI
Date Created: 27 May 1967
Population Rank: N/A


Rivers State is one of the 36 states of Nigeria. Its capital is Port Harcourt. It is bounded on the South by the Atlantic Ocean, to the North by the Anambra, Imo and Abia States, to the East by Akwa Ibom State and to the West by the Bayelsa and Delta States.

The inland part of Rivers state consists of tropical rainforest; towards the coast the typical river delta environment features many mangrove swamps. Rivers state was part of the Oil Rivers Protectorate from 1885 till 1893, when it became part of the Niger Coast Protectorate. In 1900 the region was merged with the chartered territories of the Royal Niger Company to form the colony of Southern Nigeria.

The state was formed in 1967 with the split of the Eastern Region of Nigeria. It gained Ughelli from Bendel State, and Opobo from the Cross-River State in 1976. Until 1996 the state contained the area which is now in the Bayelsa State.

The capital, Port Harcourt, is the nerve centre of the famous Nigerian Oil industry and over ninety industrial concerns, including the Shell Petroleum Development Company of (Nigeria) Limited, AGIP, Texaco, Elf, NPRC, Michelin, West African Glass Industry, Alcan Aluminium, Metaloplastica, Risonpalm, NAFCON, Pabod Breweries, to mention a few.

Due to its beautiful layout and peculiar topography, Port Harcourt, christened "Garden City", is accessible by road, rail, air and sea. Apart from being a railway terminus and having one of the busiest airports in Nigeria, Port Harcourt has the unique natural advantage of being the nation's second largest sea port with another sea port, the Ocean Terinal at Onne, a stone's throw from it.


River State was created on May 27, 1967 and constituted one of the earliest states which came into being upon the dissolution of the old regional structure


Rivers State with a population of about three million people occupies an area of 21,850 sq. km. With two thirds of it in the Niger Delta geographical terrain. The dominant ethnic groups are Ijwa, Ikwere, Etche, Ogoni, and Ogba/Egbema. Ijaw and Ikwerre are the most spoken languages although pidgin English is widely used in radio and television broadcasts.

Local Government Areas

Rivers State is currently made up of 22 local government areas. These are Ogba/Egbema, Ndoni, Ahoada, Ikwerre, Etche, Andoni/Opobo, Bonny, Okrika, Iyigbo, Ehana, Gokana Tai/Eleme, Obio/Akpor, Emohua, Degema, Aseri Toru, Akuku, Abua/Odial, Omumma, Opobo/Nkoro, Ogu/ Bolo, Ahaoda West and Eleme.


UNIVERSITY OF PORT-HARCOURT (www.uniport.edu.ng)

Business Opportunities

Agriculture is the main occupation of the people of Rivers State and the agricultural policy of the state government is anchored on food production. This provides employement for young school leavers and university graduates. These agricultural activities are grouped' under Community Block Farming Scheme, Community Fishing Scheme, Livestock Scheme and Rabbitry.

However, it is the production of oil and gas that Rivers State is most famous. With enormous reserves of crude oil and natural gas, Rivers State account for more than 40% of Nigeria crude oil production. Apart from this, there are many petrochemical related industries in the state which also harbour the first petroleum refinery in Nigeria. Nigeria's gigantic liquified natural gas project is located in Bonny in the state


Isaac Boro Park, Port Harcourt Man-made * Monument of King Jaja of Opobo Monument * Okrika Aquatic Stadium Man-made * Ifoko Beach, Ifoko Physical * Port Harcourt Tourist Beach Physical

Useful Resources


Schools on The Web:


State Liason Office:
Plot 1221B, Bishop Oluwole Street.
Victoria Island, Lagos.
Tel: 01-617537.

ABUJA: Block 8, Federal Housing Authority,Opp. Asokoro Health Centre Asokoro Abuja