Zamfara State, Nigeria

Capital: Gusau
Area: 39,762 kmĖ›
Population: 3,602,356 (2005 est.)
Language: Hausa 
Governor: Mahmuda Shinkafi (ANPP)
ISO 3166-2:  NG-ZA
Date Created: 1 October 1996
Population Rank: Ranked 23rd


Zamfara State is a state in northwestern Nigeria and its capital is Gusau. Until 1996 the state was part of Sokoto State.

The state was the first in Nigeria to introduce Sharia law.

Zamfara is bounded by Sokoto State on the North, Niger and Kaduna States on the South, Kebbi State on the West, and Katsina State on the East.


Zamfara state was created on 1st of October, 1996 by Gen. Sani Abacha. It was carved out of the old Sokoto state.


Local Government Areas

The state is comprised of 141 local government councils some of which are Isa, Zurmi, Maradun Talata/Mafara, Gusau, Kaura/Namoda, Bungudu, Chafe, Maru, Anka, Kiyawa, Bukkuyum, Gunmi and Shinkafi.



Education is given a place of pride in the state. At its creation the state had a number of educational institutions on ground to cater for the educational need of its people.

Business Opportunities

The occupation of the people of the state is primarily farming. The produce food crops as well as cash crops.


The state is blessed with rich cultural heritage and some tourist centres. Zamfara is accessible by road.

Useful Resources

Schools on The Web:


State Liason Office: 3, Adeola Odeku Street, Victoria Island Lagos. Federal Housing Estate Maitama District Abuja