Abuja State, Nigeria

Capital: N/A  
Area: 7,315 km˛
Population: 979,876 (2012 est.)
Languages: Gade, Gbagyi, Gbari and Nupe are major langs.
Minister: Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed
ISO 3166-2: NG-FC
Date Created: 3 February 1976
Population Rank: Ranked



The Federal Capital Territory is the home of Abuja, the capital of Nigeria. The territory was formed in 1976 from parts of former Nasarawa, Niger, and Kogi States and it is in the central region of Nigeria, bordered to the north by Kaduna State, to the east by Nassarawa State, to the south-west by Kogi State and to the west by Niger State.

The Federal Capital Territory lies between latitudes 8o 25'N and 9o 20'N and longitude 6o39'.

Phase 1 of the city is divided into five (5) districts - Central, Garki, Wuse, Maitama, and Asokoro. Phase 2 is divided into five (5) districts - Kado, Durumi, Gudu, Utako and Jabi. Phase 3 districts is divided into four (4) districts - Mabuchi, Katampe, Wuye and Gwarimpa.


The land of Abuja was the southwestern part of the ancient kingdom of Zazzau (Zaria). The name "Abuja" was derived from Abu Ja, a brother to Muhammadu Makau, the last hausa ruler of Zaria. Makau had left Zaria after being defeated by the Fulani and settled in the area now known as Abuja. In 1825 his brother Abu Ja succeeded him as the 62nd King of Zaria.

The full name of Abu Ja was Abubakar (shortened to "Abu") and the name Ja was given to him because he was light in complexion ("Ja" means red or fair in Hausa). Hence he became known as "Abu-Ja", "Abu the fair one" (other sources claim that the name "Ja" was derived fron the last name of his father which was "Jatau").
Abu Ja built a new capital for his Kingdom and named it "Abuja" after himself.

In August 1975 the then Federal Military Government under Late General Murtala Muhammed convened a panel of experts,under the Chairmanship of the Honourable Justice T.A. Aguda, to study and advise on the desirability of retaining Lagos as the Federal Capital of Nigeria.

The panel was also empowered to recommend a suitable alternative location should it determine that the Federal Capital be moved from Lagos. Abuja was not the only place considered, several areas such as Okene, Kafanchan, Markurdi, Ile, Auchi and Agege were also suggested. The panel's recommendations for the setting up of the new Federal Capital City, at Abuja (carved out of three states Niger Plateau and Kogi (formerly Kwara)), were accepted and the Federal Government then promulgated Decree number 6 of 1976 which created the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja.


The largest indigenous group in Abuja are the Gbabyi (also known as the Gwari). The next largest indigineous group are the Koro. Smaller indigineous groups also inhabit the area, such as the Gade, Egbura, Gwandara, Bassa and the Gana gana.

Local Government Areas

The FCT is divided into six area councils namely, Abuja Municipal, Gwagwalada, Abaji, Kuje, Bwari and Kwali.


Institutions in Abuja:

  • African institute of science and technology
  • Baze university
  • Nigerian turkish Nile university
  • University of Abuja
  • Veritas University

Business Opportunities

Being centrally located, Abuja is blessed with a mix of agricultural produce such as tubers and root crops of the south (yams, cassava, maize and plantains) and grain (sorghum, guinea corn and rice) of the north.

The FCT has proven deposits of a wide range of mineral resources including marble, tin, mica, clay, wolfromite, tantalite and talc.


Abuja Amusement Park, Resort/Man-made Zone 1, Wuse * Abuja Gardens, Central Resort/man-made Area * Abuja Zoological Garden, Zoo/Man-made Area 1, Garki * ECOWAS Secretariat Man-made * Women Development Resort/Man-made Centre * Abuja Plant Nursery Physical/Man- made * Aso Rock Physical/Natural * Usman Dam Man-made * IBB Golf Course Sports Tourism * Jabi Dam and Holiday Man-made/Resort Resort.

Useful Resources

Schools on The Web:




Federal Capital Development Authority
Area 11, Garki
Abuja, FCT Nigeria