Oyo State, Nigeria

Capital: Ibadan
Area: 28,454 km2
Population: 6,617,720 (2007 est.)
Major Languages :  Yoruba
Governor: Isiaka Abiola Ajimobi (APC)
ISO 3166-2: NG-OY
Date Created: 3 February 1976
Population Rank: Ranked N/A



Oyo State is an inland state in south-western Nigeria, with its capital at Ibadan. It is bounded in the south by Ogun State and in the north by Kwara State, in the west is bounded partly by Ogun State and partly by the Republic of Benin while in the east it is bounded by Osun State.

The capital of the State is Ibadan, the most populous city in black Africa with about two and a half million people.


Oyo State, popularly referred to as the “Pace Setter” is one of the 36 States of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. It came into existence with the break up of the old Western State of Nigeria during the State creation exercise in 1976 and it originally included Osun State, which was split off in 1991.


The people of Oyo State may be divided into five broad groups which are: Ibadans, Ibarapas, Oyos, Oke-Oguns and Ogbomosos.

Local Government Areas

The state consists of 33 local government areas: Akinyele Moniyele, Afijio Jobele, Egbeda Egbeda, Ibadan North Agodi Gate, Ibadan North East Iwo Road, Ibadan North West, Irepo, Ido, Ibadan South West, Ibadan South East, Ibarapa Central, Iseyin iseyin, Kajola, Lagelu, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Oyo West, Atisbo, Atiba, Ori Ire, Oyo East, Saki West, Saki East, Iwajowa, Ibarapa North, Oluyole, Ogo Oluwa, Surulere, Orelope, Ona Ara, Olorunsogo


Presently the State has 2,004 public schools, 971 private nursery/primary schools, 969 public secondary schools including 7 schools of Science and 57 private secondary schools, five Technical Colleges located at Ogbomosho, Oyo, Saki, Ibadan and Igbo-Ora. Two technical Colleges of Education are located at Ado-Awaye, Iseyin Local Government area and Ikija in Oluyole Local Government area, Federal College Education (Special), Oyo, the Federal School of Surveying, Oyo as well as the famous University of lbadan and Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho. There is also the Polytechnic, Ibadan with satellite campuses at Eruwa and Saki and Special Science Schools located within the state




Business Opportunities

Agriculture is the main occupation of the people of Oyo State. The climate in the state favours the cultivation of crops like maize, yam, cassava, millet, rice, plantains, cocoa, palm produce, cashew etc



Igbeti Hills, Igbeti Physical * Trans Amusement Park, Ibadan Man-made Resort * Captain Bower, Tower, Ibadan Monument * Agodi Gardens, Ibadan Man-made * Old Oyo National Park Wildlife/Eco-Toursim * University of Ibadan Zoo/ Zoological Garden Man-made * Alaafin of Oyo's Palace Cultural * Calabash Carving Cultural/Souvenir * Ado-Awage Suspended Lake Natural * Aso Oke Weaving, Iseyin Traditional/Souvenir

Useful Resources


Schools on The Web:

University of Ibadan(www.ui.edu.ng)

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (lautech.edu.ng)

Lead City University (www.lcu.edu.ng)

Ajayi Crowther University (www.acu.edu.ng)

The Polytechnic Ibadan (www.polyibadan.edu.ng)


State Liason Office:
 Plot 77, Ralph Sodeinde Street, Central Business District, P. M. B. 300, Garki, Abuja